pic1 pic2 pic3 pic4 pic5 pic6 pic7

Awards & Recognition

Dr. Ramon D. Buckley Graduate Student Scholarship Fund

2008 Recipient: Heidi Hehnly, Graduate Student in the Laboratory of Dr. Mark Stamnes

The Ramon D. Buckley Graduate Student Scholarship Fund honors the late Ramon "Ray" Buckley. The fund was established by his daughter Kimberly Vargas; her husband, Robert; and Ray’s grandson, Douglas Ramon Buckley Vargas, of Pasadena, California.

After graduating from Iowa State Teachers College in 1957, with a master’s degree in education, Ray taught high school science while saving money for his Ph.D. studies. With Dr. Byron A. Schottelius as his advisor, Dr. Buckley completed his dissertation on muscular dystrophy and earned his Ph.D. from the University of Iowa in 1961. Following graduation he moved to southern California where he conducted pulmonary research at the University of Southern California (USC). There, Ray conducted initial smog studies, which were used to establish the Environmental Protection Agency’s standards for car-exhaust emissions. Ray passed away in 2006.

To honor Ray’s appreciation for his University of Iowa education, the Vargas family has created this scholarship in his name.

Peter A. Getting Postdoctoral Research Scholar Award

2007 Winner: Dr. John Lueck, Postdoctoral Scholar in the Laboratory of Dr. Kevin Campbell

This award honors Dr. Peter A. Getting's contributions to neuroscience research and to the Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics at The University of Iowa. During Dr. Getting's tenure at The University of Iowa, he achieved a wide national and international reputation as an important figure in neural control of patterned movements. While earning the respect of leading investigators in his field and demonstrating a record of gaining peer approval for his grants and papers, Dr. Getting also made a significant contribution to the training of graduate students in neuroscience research on a national and international scale. Because of these accomplishments and his many contributions to the department, a fellowship was established in his name.

Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics McClintock Award

2011 Recipient: Eric Mou

The McClintock Award is given in honor of Dr. John T. McClintock, who established the first experimental laboratory of physiology in the College of Medicine. Dr. McClintock served as Chair of Physiology and Biophysics from 1904-1944. This award is made in recognition of outstanding scholarship by a medical student who received the highest grade in physiology as incorporated in the Human Organ Systems course during their freshman year.

Paper of the Year Award

2010 Recipient: Colleen Trantow

The Paper of the Year Award recognizes the research accomplishments of graduate students and postdoctoral researchers in the Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics. Faculty members from within the Department nominate papers from their laboratories that have had significant contributions from a student or postdoctoral researcher.

Dr. Byron A. Schottelius Teaching Award

2009 Recipient: Colleen Trantow, Graduate Student in the Laboratory of Dr. Mike Anderson

Dr. Byron A. Schottelius was a faculty member in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics for 32 years. He received his B.A. in zoology from The University of Iowa, his M.S. degree from Washington State University, and his Ph.D. in physiology from The University of Iowa (1954). He began his academic career in 1954 at the University of North Carolina, where he served as an Instructor and Assistant Professor. He returned to The University of Iowa in 1957 as an Assistant Professor and was appointed Full Professor in 1967. He became Professor Emeritus in 1988.

Dr. Schottelius' funded research focused on the biophysics of muscular contraction and he authored or coauthored many peer-reviewed articles in this field. He also developed microcomputer simulations of physiological phenomena and used them to teach physiology in small group conferences. He coauthored, along with his wife Dr. Dorothy Schottelius, five editions of a widely used "Textbook of Physiology" (C.V. Mosby Co., 1961). He also coauthored four editions of a "Physiology Laboratory Manual" and a Teacher's Guide for the "Textbook of Physiology".

For many years Dr. Schottelius served as Director of Graduate Studies for the Department of Physiology and Biophysics. Throughout his career he was a strong student advocate. This Award, which bears his name, is presented annually to a graduate student who shows exceptional promise as a teacher in the physiological sciences.

Outstanding Postdoc Teaching Award

2009 Recipient: Dr. Aaron Beedle, Associate in the Laboratory of Dr. Kevin Campbell

This award is intended to identify an outstanding lecturer of physiology and to promote innovative and provocative methods of teaching. Postdoctoral Researchers and Assistant Research Scientists with a PhD and/or MD who present lectures in a physiology course offered by the Department of Molecular Physiology & Biophysics are eligible for this annual award.